16.D University Holidays and Closures/Vacation

16.D.1 Holidays (University-wide)

Subject to certain regulations prescribed by the University, faculty members and staff are to be granted time off work without loss of compensation in order to observe the following seven University-designated holidays:

- New Year's Day
- Memorial Day
- Independence Day
- Labor Day
- Thanksgiving Day
- the day following Thanksgiving
- Christmas

University-designated holidays will be observed on the calendar day on which each falls except that holidays falling on Sunday will be observed on the following Monday and holidays falling on Saturday will be observed on the preceding Friday. Operating units that have seven day per week operations may observe Saturday and Sunday holidays on the day on which they fall rather than the preceding Friday or following Monday. (SPG 201.26-0) See also handbook section <u>16.D.2 "Season Days"</u>

16.D.2 Season Days

All regular faculty and staff are granted time off without loss of their regular compensation on the four working days that fall between the University-observed holidays of Christmas Day and New Year's Day, subject to regulations prescribed by the University. Most University units and departments are closed during this time period; faculty should check with their unit administrators about unit procedures. Faculty who are required to or elect to work on one or more of their designated Season Day(s) will receive an equivalent amount of vacation time. To claim this additional vacation time, they should follow the same procedures they use when claiming the annual vacation allowance the University provides to them. They must use any vacation earned in this way before the next date on which the University renews their annual vacation allowance. (SPG 201.26-1.) Also see handbook section <u>16.D.1 "Holidays"</u>

16.D.3 Vacation Allowance

Regular faculty holding University-year appointments are not eligible to accrue vacation time (SPG <u>201.64-1</u>).

Instructional Faculty with Twelve-Month Appointments

Regular and clinical instructional faculty who hold twelve-month appointments and have more than six months of service are eligible for a vacation allowance with regular compensation. The annual vacation allowance to eligible persons is equivalent to one month in 12. Individuals who have served for at least six months but less than 12 are eligible for a vacation allowance proportionate to the fraction of a year

served. Part-time regular instructional faculty holding twelve-month appointments also receive annual vacation allowances on a proportional basis. The vacation allowance is in addition to University holidays and season days.

The vacation allowance may not exceed one month in twelve, and is not accumulated from one year to the next. In certain limited circumstances, payment in lieu of vacation time may be approved (bylaw <u>5.15</u> and SPG <u>201.64-1</u>). Neither vacation time nor pay in lieu of vacation may be granted prior to eligibility for the allowance.

Research Faculty, Librarians, Archivists, and Curators

Research faculty accrue paid vacation at the rate of two days per month beginning with the first date of employment. Part-time faculty members in these positions who are regularly scheduled to work 20% (eight hours) or more per week accrue vacation time on a proportionate basis. Faculty regularly scheduled to work less than 20% (eight hours) per week do not accrue paid vacation. Vacation time accrues during time worked and during absences covered by sick time and vacation. Vacation time is available for use during the calendar month in which it is accrued. Vacation days may be accumulated over a period of time up to a maximum of twice the annual accrual rate. (SPG <u>201.64-0</u>) Vacation days are in addition to the University holidays and season days.

Vacation for librarians, archivists, and curators, is governed by Article XXV in the <u>LEO-GLAM collective</u> bargaining agreement.

16.D.4 Emergency Closing

It is the policy of the University to remain open at all times in order to maintain services to students, patients, and the public. However, in the event of emergency conditions due to severe weather, utility failures, or other circumstances, the University may order an emergency closing for certain non-critical service areas. Critical services basic to health care, safety, and daily sustenance have to remain open, and staff in these areas and in all other units that are not closed should make every reasonable effort to report to work. An emergency closing is declared by the president or designee and announced through the facilities of the University's News Service. See SPG 201.27 for further details, including the University's compensation policy in the event of an emergency closing.